OBLITERATED

Let’s paint the town red

If that’s what Family is about

with 11 comments

I don’t know how long this has been going on, probably a few years, but my paternal family side is going haywire.
My grandma is constantly getting into quarrels with my second and third auntie. They just had another quarrel today. And when my family went to visit her my Dad talked to her and she cried. Yes, that bad.
It’s quite scary, you know. Just about 3 weeks ago my maternal grandma cried as she talked about the past, like how she almost gave my mother away to a Malay family (cos my Mum is the youngest and they couldn’t really afford to keep her) and all the hardships to raise the children up, and now I hear about my paternal grandma crying. And you should know that in my almost-15 years on this Earth I have never seen either of my grandmas cry.
So my Dad (sometimes I think he doesn’t know who to side with. Cos sometimes my granny is unreasonable but sometimes it’s plain obvious that the aunties are in the wrong) invited her over for dinner and we had a good dinner. And we had yu2 sheng1 for the fifth time this Chinese New Year, only this time the hawker centre person forgot to give my Dad the sauces (yeah, so dumb, right) and we had to make do with the plum sauce we had at home and some olive oil (olive oil is probably healthier). Lucky it still tasted good, otherwise it would have been money wasted. Enough digression.

I hate my second auntie by the way. She is gossipy and biased and enjoys talking bad about people and thinks she’s really good so she always has to have the last say on everything and likes her dearest god daughter better than she likes me. Sometimes I feel like slapping her.
I like my third aunt though. She always helps to take care of me my sis and my bro when my parents are working late or whatever. And whenever she makes cakes or cookies she will call us to come over and get some. And she’s very caring and never fails to ask about my results and always encourages me to work hard.

So what I mean is, squabbles aren’t what family should be about. We shouldn’t quarrel over trivial issues and then get angry at each other because of that. We shouldn’t talk behind each other’s backs, then be told about what was said and then scold the person who said it. Most of all, we shouldn’t quarrel about money. It’s wrong. It’s wrong. It’s wrong.
Which reminds me of what we learnt during Literature.

Type of conflict(S): petty conflict
Rate: 1

TSK.

But why am I worrying about it, it’s not as if I can shout at anybody to stop quarreling, because they are my elders. Not like I actually want to shout at my third auntie or my grandma anyway.

TSK.

I know every family isn’t all Happy Family all the time, but still. I’m sure they don’t have year-long feuds which are accumulated and then everyone takes it out on everyone and then there are more quarrels and then there’s gossip and then the whole thing is repeated again.
It’s a cycle that’s taken the family years to perfect. We should know. The cycle is making another round now, anyway.

TSK.

Perhaps it would be better if they only saw one another during the Lunar New Year? There’s no way anyone would fight with anyone if they only see each other a few hours every year, right?

TSK.

That seems highly impossible. Because there is still such a thing as the PHONE. Wishful thinking I have.

***

We must work hard for SYF!
We must work hard for SYF!
We must work hard for SYF!

And we will get a GOLD (:

Written by obliterated

February 24, 2007 at 4:28 pm

Posted in feelings, life, thoughts

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah I was sick like hell that day, bad headache, fever coming down and stuff. That’s why I didn’t stay for Chinese debate thing. I was like, shivering in class la!! And I struggled on till the last lesson, which is like ENGLISH WITH MRS TIAN, and I went home and fell asleep right away! πŸ™‚

    HOW NICE I GOT A LETTER!! YAYY THANKYOU πŸ˜€

    MEIZHEN

    February 25, 2007 at 4:15 am

  2. OH YES!! REMEMBER THE SHOW I TOLD YOU ABOUT?

    I’M WATCHING IT NOWW!!!!!

    MEIZHEN

    February 25, 2007 at 4:15 am

  3. And don’t worry bout your family thing, all families quarrel, even the best ones do. It’s pretty natural to have quarrels and stuff, but you just gotta learn to accept and forgive those people whom offended you or whatever kay!

    LOVE YA

    MEIZHEN

    February 25, 2007 at 4:16 am

  4. haha your maternal family sounds like my maternal family too! except that its always my grandma with my second aunt…the last time they came to my house, they both quarrelled and my second aunt cried….but i’m quite used to it, because every year when i go back to my grandma’s house, it will always happen. πŸ˜„ hahahah

    my mum says its stupid that they fight over such trival things. and she told me what are they fighting about and i laughed. -_- they must be too old and are getting silly.

    pft old people are just like that…dont take it to heart too seriously, ex-sis. they just want to find some entertainment in fighting. -_-. and there are loads of scandalous stuff in my family that i learnt in CNY! hahahaha its so GOSSIPY!

    and this must be my longest tag ever.

    CHEERS! πŸ˜€
    always look on the bright side of life! (nike ad)

    ex-bro

    February 25, 2007 at 9:09 am

  5. ((: man i forgot what to type.
    oh i like moulin rouge alot . -.- i said that.

    OH HAHAHHAHAHA, LIVEJOURNAL IS CUTE, IT THINKS TESSA IS A ROBOT HAHAH (:

    karon !

    February 25, 2007 at 1:24 pm

  6. HEY TESSA πŸ™‚

    YOU SHOULD TOTALLY WATCH MY SHOW I TOLD YOU ABOUT. IT’S SO SAD NOW, OMG I CRIED TILL MY EYES ARE SORE NOW. ):

    MEIZHEN

    February 26, 2007 at 11:08 am

  7. Whoa. Family quarrels can get really scary. I hate gossipy aunties too. They’re simply annoying and they have no motive on earth.
    GOLD GOLD GOLD GOLD GOLD GOLD FOR SYF.
    πŸ˜€

    enid

    February 28, 2007 at 12:28 pm

  8. TESSA!!! I HAVENT SEEN YOU FOR QUITE LONG ALREADY );

    NEED TO TALK πŸ˜€

    MSN -winks-

    MEIZHEN

    February 28, 2007 at 1:44 pm

  9. http://www.xanga.com/thecowisblue

    I’LL BE ALTERNATING!! πŸ˜€

    MEIZHEN

    March 1, 2007 at 10:36 am

  10. HELLOLO

    MEIZHEN

    March 3, 2007 at 9:04 am

  11. haha, youre FUNNY πŸ˜€

    karon !

    March 5, 2007 at 12:01 pm


Leave a Reply

