OBLITERATED

Let’s paint the town red

I should be thankful, right?

with 7 comments

Three Chinese practice papers and pages of good Chinese sentences to use during bao zhang du hou gan essays to memorise and corrections for Math exam papers and how many more gazillion things to do? I won’t even get to rest on Monday because I scored a wonderful C5 of 57 marks and those who scored C5 and below have to go for remedial.
And after the Chinese ‘O’s on 31 October, there is a A Math Trigo test. Then we’ll have the Investiture to plan and Band camp to manage.
Oh no, this is so tiring.
One thing done and another comes up. A few things to do at one time.

You know, I’ve been thinking. About how ungrateful I am to have the chance to go to school, when people in some other parts of the world don’t even have a chance to hold a pencil in their hands and learn the alphabet.
I should be thankful, right?
Here I am having attended six years of primary school and having had almost three years of secondary education, never having to worry about school fees or school uniforms. Or about things like having pocket money for recess or having food to eat. I mean, not everyone is as lucky as I am, who gets to live in a nice home and have food to eat and can go to school and can get an education etc. etc. etc.
…Right?

But then again.
I can’t help thinking of all the mutiple homework and tests and the obvious lack of sleep. The exams. The stress…or is it just me? I feel like my mind is stretched a few thousand ways for a few thousand things. Sometimes when I feel like dropping dead just sitting in front of my homework, I find that I can’t sleep when I throw everything into my bag and lie on my bed. Then I’ll be thinking that I’m wasting time lying on my bed trying to sleep when I could use the time to do work. Weird? I don’t know.
Sometimes I take a break and stone, before thinking that I’m wasting time again.

Chinese O Levels are coming in 11 days.
Ohno, help.

Before I go, one quote from Jamie FLN, my music-obsessed friend who wants a blanket of iPods stitched together.
“Yes, excelling is admirable but what is truly paramount is trying.”
from her lovely What Makes A Happy Life essay. And the quote is HER OWN, she didn’t get it from anywhere but her own head.

If only there wasn’t a difference between this grade or that. I would enjoying studying much more this way.

Thus ends the longest post I’ve typed for very, very long.

Written by obliterated

October 19, 2007 at 5:05 pm

Posted in thoughts

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. yes, you lucky person.half the world is dying from starvation while the other half is thinking: “what shld we do with these food? i think we’d better throw it away before it goes bad.” yup, this is reality. go get your beauty sleep during the weekends.like you said, your timing is all haywire.heh.we’re all in the chi remedial tgr (((:

    sherbertlemondrop

    October 20, 2007 at 12:51 am

  2. Yea we seem (are?) busier after EOYs. But really, all this homework and extra lessons are for our own good. I’m damn worried for O-Lvl Chi. I wish my chinese was as terrific as Eunice. EOY results seem to have a negative and pessimistic effect on me ): I don’t know what to say about the thankful part..but I feel extremely lazy and guilty most of the time. WOOHOO I SEE MY QUOTE HOTINDIANMAN! I was half-joking about the iPod-blanket but I do imagine how it would look like. Don’t tell anyone, okay?

    Jamie

    October 20, 2007 at 5:49 am

  3. jamie, the WHOLE world knows alr! it’s on the WEB, hi!!!

    sherbertlemondrop

    October 20, 2007 at 6:19 am

  4. see, at least ur cl did hav sth for u to be proud of urself: topping the class for the compo, sec 3 somemore…so u shld feel quite happy abt it! haha. n dun u worry, u wil improve! i’m positive abt tt! i’m oso going back to sch tmr morning @ 10am. haha. n going home at abt 2pm, for some sort of absurd reasons! but nvm, still can see my frenz! ^_^
    GO, GO Tessa! All the way! (=

    xinyun

    October 21, 2007 at 9:28 am

  5. TESSA!!!!haha.link me k?don’t be so stressed!and jamie,my chinese is not as you say,TERRIFIC!if it was,i wouldn’t be working so hard now:)

    nonexistantlove

    October 21, 2007 at 1:25 pm

  6. hahhas gdgd.and ok la effective is alittle, but anw. ladeedoo.BRING THE CD TMR, ya? hahhas sry ar, bothering you ((:

    sherbertlemondrop

    October 22, 2007 at 7:33 am

  7. haha chinese rocks. mwahaha ^^

    jo

    October 25, 2007 at 9:29 am


Leave a Reply

