OBLITERATED

Let’s paint the town red

I am annoyed

with 9 comments

and thatΒ is because we’ve got homework for the Chinese New Year holidays.

HOMEWORK, LOVELIES, HOMEWORK.

WHY?

First of all, I am a CHINESE. Even though I am not exactly strong in my grasp of my mother tongue and I don’t read Chinese newspapers or watch Chinese news daily or speak a lot of Chinese or enjoy writing Chinese essays as much English essays, I do speak Chinese and listen to Chinese radio and blah, I am essentially a CHINESE!
And what does that mean?
It means I CELEBRATE CHINESE NEW YEAR.
And Chinese New Year is NOT meant to be spent sitting at the study table doing homework and studying for tests NOR to be spent at some relative’s house supposedly enjoying yourself but all you can think of is the homework or the tests you’re supposed to be doing!
So if we had gatherings at different houses every day during this long weekend, how are we supposed to find the time to complete our work?
“Oh, _______, I’m so sorry but I gotta stay home and finish this shitty project up. You all go ahead and have fun.” WHAT?
WTH!
WHAT THE HELL!
…oops, Mum said no cursing during the festive period.
*stows away bag of curses*

Second, say I was one of the many Chinese who come from Malaysia and Indonesia and wherever else, and I was to go back to Malaysia and Indonesia and wherever else to spend the Chinese New Year with the rest of the family there. How was I going to complete my homework? After all, how often do I get to see those relatives? Once, twice a year? How would it seem if I were to bring homework there? It’s supposed to be TIME SPENT WITH THE FAMILY, RIGHT? I’m not one to embrace traditions all the time, but I do believe in this kind of family reunion, this widely-celebrated festival.

Third, even if I wasn’t Chinese and didn’t celebrate Chinese New Year, I wouldn’t want to do work. I’ll like to enjoy myself, relax a bit. It’s just like Hari Raya, Deepavali etc y’know. I’m not Indian nor Malay nor Eurasian and neither is the majority of the Singaporean population but we all get a well-deserved holiday and everyone would like to take a break. So what if CNY gets a long holiday over the weekend? It’s not an excuse for homework.

When my Math teacher Mrs Seah gave us homework for Binomial Theorem (questions from the textbook and this practice worksheet because we’ve got a freaking test on it next week, together with a Literature test and Biology test), we had this conversation

me: Oh no, why so much homework!
Mrs Seah: You see, you can enjoy the first two days of the holiday. Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday! You can play on Thursday and Friday, don’t touch your work at all! Then you have Saturday and Sunday what! You do work la!
me: But I got family gatherings the entire weekend…
Mrs Seah: Who ask you to be so sociable?!
me: *thinking in my head* That’s not the point…!

Nice lovely ranty post here.
On a nicer note, I am enjoying my food and family gatherings.

sun.jpg

Written by obliterated

February 8, 2008 at 4:46 pm

Posted in life, thoughts

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ahahaha~ yep it’s horrid to have hw to do during this festive period :/ and studying for tests in this period — SUCKERS πŸ˜€
    HI LOVE~

    CHUA

    February 9, 2008 at 6:36 am

  2. mrs seah is anti-social. ahahahaha. she’s prob cranky having hit menopausal age. oh and the prospect of giving angbaos to her nieces and nephews. one thing good about sucking in math is not being acutely aware of how much money is walking out of your bank account

    Jamie

    February 9, 2008 at 10:16 am

  3. Happy Chinese New Year! The Year of the Rat means a lot of dough for you. Do not spend all your lucky packets on shopping. Save some. πŸ™‚

    leafless

    February 9, 2008 at 6:13 pm

  4. JAMIE! i lost my binomial ws. HAHAHA. aint i great or what. btw tessaaaa, i think it’s gonna be “okay” when we see mrs seah tmr, hahah. afterall, IT IS CNY! πŸ˜€ YAYNESS!

    shanna

    February 10, 2008 at 9:27 am

  5. why you JAMIE! when the tag is for tessa -_- eh i tell you im damn good for business. i was the first to finish selling fiesta tix and start on my own πŸ˜€ then i left early to paktor with Louise xD

    Jamie

    February 10, 2008 at 9:57 am

  6. hi love, your family is REAL CUTE πŸ˜€ which coincidently, convineintly (i’m sorrry, my spelling SUCKS, as you should already know πŸ˜€ ) includes your brother. but he really is cute. just like YOU. πŸ˜€ like sister, like brother πŸ˜€ <33333333 you LOADS.

    CHUAHAHA

    February 10, 2008 at 12:15 pm

  7. hahaha i guess i’m lucky πŸ˜€ the teacher didn’t give us much hw πŸ˜› touchwood LOL

    Ann

    February 10, 2008 at 1:03 pm

  8. hello!!!!!!!!!!!!! happy new year!!!!!!! happy F AND n!

    LAISUM-hitme

    February 11, 2008 at 8:29 am

  9. i only got math hw!! poor you. HAPPY BELATED CNY ❀

    ANGELIQUE :D

    February 11, 2008 at 9:17 am


Leave a Reply

