OBLITERATED

Let’s paint the town red

Twilight

with 2 comments

Went to watch Twilight with my sister and brother today! A strange new experience, going out to the cinema with my siblings. Not unpleasant, though 🙂
I understood what the movie was about because I’d read the book. I don’t recommend watching it if you haven’t because you wouldn’t understand many things in the movie. I wish Bella (Kristen Stewart) had injected more emotion into her character because her face seemed glum throughout. Even in scenes such as when she was leaving her father’s house, when she had to shout at him, her face barely registered anything. Her voice is good at projecting emotion though, I’ll give her that. But I thought she sounded quite constipated at the scene in the ballet studio, screaming and writhing on the floor when she had her leg broken and arm bitten by James. I did like Robert Pattinson as Edward though. The colour of his contact lenses is beautiful.
I did like the fight scene during which James had his neck broken (and brutally too, by Alice).
I found Rosalie (Nikki Reed) a tad too bitchy for my liking, although I knew she was supposed to be unpleasant and unwelcoming towards Bella. And Jasper (Jackson Rathbone) was amusing throughout the movie because he looked like he was permanently in shock. It was funny to watch him.
One thing I don’t understand is why Jacob Black (Taylor Lautner) and his friends all have long black hair.
I didn’t like the part where Edward revealed his skin to sparkle in the sunlight. It was supposed to be set in a meadow! That was my favourite part in the book. To my dismay it was in a small cramped area in the forest. The ‘sparkling’ music they played when he exposed his skin made his sparkling skin more than fake. I was unable to appreciate it.
While I guess the movie was alright, I did feel that the vampires had faces too white. And that is especially obvious in the last scene, where Victoria (Rachelle Lefevre) watches Edward and Bella slow-dancing at prom before turning around to descend the stairs. Her face was caked with make-up and she didn’t have that great a complexion either.
Don’t watch the movie if you haven’t read the book or did not like the book or do not like movies with typical lines of love stories (such as new girl catches attention of handsome vampire and they become a couple). Otherwise, perhaps you’ll enjoy it 😀

Written by obliterated

December 19, 2008 at 5:04 pm

Posted in life

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i watched it alr!! yeah, the sparkling skin thingy is just too gross. his body is so HAIRY :O like, his arm :/ and the way they portrayed the whole thing’s alright la, not too bad 😀
    yeah!! the long hair guy is odd :/ her friend who asked her to prom, his mascara was crappy-ly put. so gross.
    i liked the part where he pushed james to the floor and all the floorboards flew hahaha 😀 i really imagined it like that, hoho 😀
    see you soon on tuesday 😀 😀 😀

    CHUAHAHA

    December 27, 2008 at 1:39 pm

  2. HAPPY NEW YEAR =D may 2009 be filled with countless blessings. and btw, I LOVE THE BASEBALL SCENE. great music, great effects (:

    Enid

    January 1, 2009 at 4:33 am


Leave a Reply

